ACEEE 2023 Speakers


Fellow of IEEE

Prof. Frede Blaabjerg, Aalborg University, Denmark

Speech Title: Power Electronics — the Key Technology for Grid Integration

Prof. Frede Blaabjerg was with ABB-Scandia, Randers, Denmark, from 1987 to 1988. From 1988 to 1992, he got the PhD degree in Electrical Engineering at Aalborg University in 1995. He became an Assistant Professor in 1992, an Associate Professor in 1996, and a Full Professor of power electronics and drives in 1998. From 2017 he became a Villum Investigator. He is honoris causa at University Politehnica Timisoara (UPT), Romania and Tallinn Technical University (TTU) in Estonia. His current research interests include power electronics and its applications such as in wind turbines, PV systems, reliability, harmonics and adjustable speed drives. He has published more than 600 journal papers in the fields of power electronics and its applications. He is the co-author of four monographs and editor of ten books in power electronics and its applications.

He has received 30 IEEE Prize Paper Awards, the IEEE PELS Distinguished Service Award in 2009, the EPE-PEMC Council Award in 2010, the IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award 2014 and the Villum Kann Rasmussen Research Award 2014. He was the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS from 2006 to 2012. He has been  Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Power Electronics Society from 2005 to 2007 and for the IEEE Industry Applications Society from 2010 to 2011 as well as 2017 to 2018. In 2019-2020 he serves a President of IEEE Power Electronics Society. He is Vice-President of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences too. He is nominated in 2014-2018 by Thomson Reuters to be between the most 250 cited researchers in Engineering in the world.


Fellow of IEEE

Prof. Gianfranco Chicco, Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy

Speech Title: Combined Indicators of Waveform Distortion and Unbalance for Power Quality Studies

Gianfranco Chicco holds a Ph.D. in Electrotechnics Engineering and is a Full Professor of Electrical Energy Systems at Politecnico di Torino (POLITO), Italy. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the Vice-Chair of the IEEE Italy Section. He received the title of Doctor Honoris Causa from the Universities Politehnica of Bucharest and Technical University “Gheorghe Asachi” of Iasi (Romania) in 2017 and 2018, respectively. He is listed in the “Top 2% Scientists” ranking prepared by Stanford University. He is the Scientific Responsible of the research group on Power and Energy Systems at POLITO, and the Responsible of the Torino unit of the Italian Consortium ENSIEL.

He is the Editor-in-Chief of Sustainable Energy Grids and Networks, and a Subject Editor of Energy. He was the Conference Chair of WESC 2006, IEEE ISGT Europe 2017, and UPEC 2020, and is the General co-Chair of IEEE Eurocon 2023. Within POLITO, he participated in various European projects. Within ENSIEL, he was the Scientific Coordinator for the European project H2020 MIGRATE and participated in the European projects FP7 eHighway2050 and H2020 OSMOSE.


Fellow of ASME and RSC

Prof. Yun Wang, UC Irvine, USA

Speech Title: Deep Learning from 3D Multiphysics Simulation for Operational Optimization and Control of PEM Fuel Cell

Yun Wang received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Mechanics and Engineering Science from Peking University in 1998 and 2001, respectively. He went to the Pennsylvania State University where he earned his Ph.D degree in Mechanical Engineering in 2006. Dr. Wang has produced over 90 publications in PEM fuel cell, Li-air battery, and other energy systems. Several of his seminal works are highly cited in major energy/power journals. Dr. Wang is currently Professor at the UC Irvine and ASME and RSC fellows.


Dr Chun Sing Lai
Senior Member, IEEE
Associate Vice President, Systems Science and Engineering, IEEE SMC Society
Course Director MSc Electric Vehicle Systems, Brunel University London, UK

Speech Title: Techno-economic Assessment of Wireless Charging Systems for Airport Shuttle Buses

Dr Chun Sing Lai received the B.Eng. (First Class Hons.) in electrical and electronic engineering from Brunel University London, London, UK, in 2013, and the D.Phil. degree in engineering science from the University of Oxford, Oxford, UK, in 2019.

He is currently the Course Director of Electric Vehicle Systems at the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, Brunel University London. His current research interests are in power system optimization and electric vehicle systems. Dr. Lai was the Publications Co-Chair for both 2020 and 2021 IEEE International Smart Cities Conferences. He is the Vice-Chair of the IEEE Smart Cities Publications Committee and Associate Editor for IET Energy Conversion and Economics. He is the Working Group Chair for IEEE P2814 and P3166 Standards, an Associate Vice President, Systems Science and Engineering of the IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society (IEEE/SMCS) and the Chair of the IEEE SMC Intelligent Power and Energy Systems Technical Committee. He is a recipient of the 2022 Meritorious Service Award from the IEEE SMC Society for "meritorious and significant service to IEEE SMC Society technical activities and standards development". He is an IEEE Senior Member, Chartered Engineer, and Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.